Meatless

I’m back!!! Again! As they say, just do it! So here I am…doing it…trying to share/write again.

So I just had to share about one of the biggest changes I’ve made in a long time.
I haven’t had any meat since the beginning of the year. Crazy to think about but I’ve managed to do it so far.
My husband and I started this meatless, dairy-free journey with just an interest in kick-starting our wanting to getting healthier in 2014. We thought we’d just go ahead and go for it…at least up through mid-February. I’m really loving the results of my changes so far so I’m seriously looking beyond mid-February and thinking I’d like to see if I could eat like this for as long as possible. I guess I’ve just got to take it one day at a time, as i’ve been trying to do, and just see how it goes!

Right now, the blender is one of my best friends. I love smoothies! It’s so easy to make and they can be packed with so much good stuff.
Here’s one of my staple recipes for a yummy smoothie…

1 cup almond milk
1 whole banana (I sometimes use 1/2 a banana when I want to cut the sugar content down a bit)
1 cup frozen strawberries
1 cup frozen blueberries
4 oz of spinach and/or kale
2 tbsp ground flaxseed

Sometimes, I also add 1/2 cup of carrots to this recipe. I told you my smoothies are nutrient-rich! =)
If you want to make it sweeter you can. It’s up to you. For me, as long as the fruits are ripe, it’s usually sweet enough for me.
But in case you need additional sweetness, you can always add chopped dates, honey, raw agave, or maple syrup.

Anyway, this meatless life has not been an easy task. I can’t live on smoothies alone so I’ve also been scouring the internet in search of recipes to help me get creative with my fruits and vegetables. I’m looking for the yummy stuff. So if you’ve got any suggestions, please send it my way!

Well, I’m looking forward to sharing more with you about my life and loves this 2014!

For now, I leave you with this interesting, fun, and smart video that’s been circulating the net. You may have already seen this but I thought I would share here since it somewhat relates (or at least I think it does). Also, since I’m a homeschooler, I love seeing children share what they’ve learned.

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

