To thine own self be true! {Authentic Life & Love}

I’m not sure if this whole post makes sense but here goes! This is what’s been on my mind lately.

Though I love learning and being inspired…I’ve been recently thinking a lot about authenticity. You’re probably familiar with the words of Shakespeare, “To thine own self be true…”( in Hamlet).

If you’re like me, you love looking for inspiration in everything around you. One of the ways I love getting inspired…besides the beauty of my natural surroundings and the everyday life I experience…is by surfing the internet.

With today’s popularity of such sites as Pinterest, Facebook, Twitter and the like…we are constantly bombarded by visual stimuli of what others are doing. For me, I’ve slowly discovered that as I look to be creative and inspired…I can also kill my soul’s own creativity, ingenuity and imagination!

Of course, not everyone is like me! And I’m not saying that I’m not or haven’t been trying to be true to myself but I do find that if I’m not careful, I can get tangled up in trying to look and be like everyone and/or everything I see rather than simply using it as a tool to dream. And rather than allowing what I see to inspire me to dream…it becomes the dream (without me even realizing it).  At least this is what I’ve sometimes found to be true for me. How about you? Do you find it easy to be authentic in who you are and what you do? If you wouldn’t mind sharing, I’d love to hear the ways you try to be a creative and authentic!

Anyway, I basically share all this to say that I’m on a journey of discovering the authentic me!

I want to be inspired to dream! To find what encourages and challenges me to be better than today..to discover what can help me to be creative and true!

So with that thought I’ve decided to begin a series of post called…”Authentic Life & Love”.

This  is where I’ll be sharing either photos, videos, or whatever it may be that helps me to be real and true to who I am. Sometimes my post may be specific to photography, being a wife and/or mom (because that’s part of who I am) but other times, it may just be something general in life and/or love!
My hope is that some of what I find through my journey will also be helpful to someone else. And I just want to say that this is NOT inspiration for the sake of inspiration or being different or even the most “liked” or popular…but it IS, I think, a discovery for the passion that exist for life and love in everyone!

So to get things started, here’s what I thought would be a great start to this series…
A video of Steve Jobs’ 2005 Stanford University Commencement Address titled “How to live before you die.”

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

