Homemade photoletters: The Weekly Kids Co-op

To send a letter is a good way to go somewhere without moving anything but your heart. 

~Phyllis Theroux

 

How about creating something that will make not only your kiddos happy but someone else get a big great smile too!

I thought I’d share with you a photoletter that I came up with as I was preparing for a long road trip ( needing to find things for my kids to do while in the car) and it was my mom’s birthday.

It’s really a simple activity to do but I love that this activity is meant to be passed along and will hopefully bring joy to someone else.

And of course with me being a photographer, my activity includes photos.  I love how photos personalize things and make things that much more special.

So here’s what i did…

Needed supplies:

Some of your favorite pictures printed on regular 8 1/2x 11 paper using your colored printer.

One sheet of construction paper

glue stick

pen/marker or crayon (for a message)

************************************

I basically picked some of my favorite pictures with the kids and their mama (that’s what my kids call my mom) and made wallet size prints using my colored printer and the 8 1/2 x 11 printer paper.

I like using Picasa because it makes printing really easy. I simply select/pin/hold the photos I want to print and then click on the printer icon on the bottom of the page and you come to the page where you’re given the options to make wallets, 4×6, 5x7s, 8x10s and full page prints.  So I click on the wallets layout and you’ll see something like this…

…6 photos (wallet size) on one page.

Depending on what your kids are able or not able to do, you can either pre-cut your photos or have your kids do it themselves. Since we were going on a roadtrip and I didn’t want to have lots of little pieces of scrap paper all about the car, I went ahead and pre-cut the photos and placed them inside an envelope with a sheet of construction paper, glue stick and pen/marker or crayon (optional).

The kids were basically instructed to glue as many of the photos they wanted onto the construction paper to make a card for their mama’s birthday.

Of course, some kids may end up gluing only one photo on the entire page or every single photo you give them; no matter what they do, I think it turns out awesome just because it’s made by their little hands and with love!

For the younger kids who have difficulty writing or don’t write at all, you can write a message either before or after they glue the pictures on.

So these photos are taken during our road trip when the kids opened their enveloped and started on their activity…

These next photos are from after our road trip just to show you how they turned out and what they’ll be doing with them.

This is my daughter’s photoletter…

My son’s…

I loved this part of my son’s letter where he drew a picture of himself having a conversation with someone…maybe his mama…not sure but anyway… I laughed out loud!

So with these photoletters you can fold them into 3rds, insert into an envelope…

stamp it and then put in your mailbox or drop off at your local post office (an additional extension to your activity)! =)

I know it’s seems rather simple but my kids loved looking at the pictures I printed for them and I loved that at the end of this activity, they had something to give as a gift of encouragement.

Hope you enjoyed our little activity!

For more wonderful activities to do with your kids or if you’d like to link up with a wonderful group of bloggers sharing their ideas, check out the Kids Co-op by clicking below (yes…the blue froggy)…

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

