DIY Facebook Timeline Cover & Facebook Timeline Custom Cover Giveaway

When FB first came out with the timeline feature in the beginning of this year, I immediately made the switch when it was made an option to FB users and quickly began working on a custom designed cover photo or banner.

It’s really simple if you already know how to use GIMP or photoshop or any photoediting software or site (i.e., picnik, photoshop.com, etc) .  If you have access to these tools, you can create your own custom cover photo and other than knowing how to use some kind of  photoediting software, all you really need to know is that the dimensions must be 850 pixels by 320 pixels.

Here’s a tutorial by Vintage Wanna Bee on how to create your FB TImeline cover using picnik here.

What I’m sharing with you below is a basic summary of what I did using photoshop.

I created a new photoshop canvas by setting my width to 850  pixels, height to 320 pixels and resolution to 300 dpi.  I first tried 72 as suggested by MADBLOG but found that when I uploaded my photo, it didn’t look as sharp as I would like.

By boosting up the resolution to 300, the uploaded photo looked as close to my created cover on photoshop as on my FB page.

So once you have you’re blank canvas…now you can just be creative.

Cover photos can be as simple or creative as you’d like it to be.

I started by adding a background color…

Then used some creative brushes to add to my background. If you google photoshop brushes you should find a number of wonderful brushes that are either free to use ( so long as you aren’t using them for commercial purposes) or brushes that you can purchase for commercial use.

I then added photos I wanted,

some text…and voila!

I had my FB Timeline cover all done!

One other important note on your cover photo design, you will need to leave a little space on the bottom left of your cover photo where your FB profile image is located on your page.

Now if you can’t or don’t want to make your own timeline cover, there are designers that are creating FB cover templates for you to just plop in your photo and upload to your FB page.

You can find a few of those here, here and here.

Now I’m not sure if anyone would be interested in this but I thought I’d go ahead and give it  a shot.

I’ll be giving away a custom designed FB TImeline Cover! I hope you’re jumping up and down with excitement! 😉

Now if you’re asking what it would look like…well, I can’t really say because it depends on who the winner is. As in my photography, I love customizing my sessions to specifically fit the person/family I’m working for. So whether or not you have some ideas as to what you’d like to see,  just not sure how to get it done or don’t have the time to do it…well go ahead and like my FB page and enter to win!

Here’s the Custom Cover Giveaway Rules…

All you have to do is “LIKE” ayphotodesign’s FB page (you can find the link to the right of the blog).

Then come back to this post and leave a comment that you’ve liked my page or have been a “liker”!

The giveaway ends April 1st at 9 p.m.  EST.

After 9 p.m., I will close the comments section of the post and verify that everyone who has left a comment has “liked” my FB page.

Then I will randomly choose a winner using random.org, update the blog post and contact the winner of the giveaway by Monday, April 2nd.

I’m sorry that I didn’t think of this sooner and had the giveaway before the complete FB changeover on the 31st but c’est la vie!  You can always just put up a photo temporarily and be ready to put up an awesome cover photo after you win my giveaway! =)

Good luck!

Until next time…

*********************

UPDATE: (4/2/2012)

I know I said I would choose one (1) Winner but…

Lisa Higgins & Marina Eddings…

You are BOTH winners of my FB TImeline GIVEAWAY!

I will contact you via email!

Thank you for participating!

Until next time… =)

Leave a Reply

