Happy Memorial Day 2011

My dad served this country for 20 years through the U.S. Navy.  Growing up, I never really understood what he was doing.  All I knew was there would be months were we wouldn’t see my dad and my mom was the only one taking care of us…my sister and I at the time.  My dad would just kiss us good-bye, tell us he loved us and would see us later.  Fortunately for us, we would see him later…he always came back.

These are a couple of pictures I found of my dad when he was in the Navy.

I can’t imagine how it is for families and friends who never see their loved one(s)  return.   Besides the time off from work, picnics, barbecues and get-togethers that this holiday brings, it’s good to remember the real reason why we celebrate today…this is a time to remember the many fallen soldiers who gave up their lives to give us the freedoms we have in this country.  Along with the fallen,  I hope we take the time to thank all of those who have served and continue to serve us as well.

Happy Memorial Day 2011!

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

