What to wear {family portraits}: Accessorize!!!

This post is all about accessorizing! If you haven’t noticed, accessories are a great way to bring  about that extra “je ne sais quoi” (I don’t know what’s special but there is) in your photos. Of course, don’t overdo it.  We don’t want to look like we’re trying too hard but we do want it to look…fabulous! If you’re paying to have you and/or your family photographed, you want nothing less right?

So, what kind of accessories? Well, you’re probably familiar with the usual hats, scarves, shoes, jewelry, socks, tights, leggings, etc.  Here’s some modern takes on some of the usual…

I just love ties! They’re especially cute on the little ones but honestly, they’re great on everyone (mom, dad, and sis too).

{via the belle and the beau on etsy}

And what a perfect bow tie for the upcoming spring pictures…

The Fedora is retro cool! Something for the boys…

{via amelia lyon)

and even the girls…

{via blue lilly photography}

For girls (and the ladies), our hair can take center stage especially with a little help from a flower…

{via jessica claire}

{via blue lily photography}

I just have to say that I am a fan of headpieces like these whether they’re flowers, feathers or the like. But I must add that there are some limits. Personally, I’m not a fan of the adornments that are almost half to bigger than one’s head size (unless your selling the headpiece)… and especially on babies, they’re super cute enough.  Just my opinion.

Now we can’t forget about SHOES…I love boots and boy do I like this mom’s boots!!

{via blue lily photography}

If you’ve read my previous post on “Color” then you probably know how much I love color and your shoes are one of the easiest ways to add color…

via lot116 photography}

How about shoes like these!

{via jewelryandbabyblingbydara on etsy}

And I can’t resist showing you more shoes…

{via designmom}

I just love the colors! =)

Now, I can go on and on… There’s so much more to talk about but I’ll go ahead and stop here for now.  Let me know if you love these ideas! Hopefully these bring your next family shoot from good to great.  I’ll be sharing more with you soon.

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

