Embrace the camera: Holding on to Wonderland

Back in October, my daughter turned 6 and we celebrated by throwing her a whimsical birthday party inspired by Alice in Wonderland.

It was a birthday party filled with dress-up, crafts, cake and 18′ of jumpy fun.  So for those who know me or have read my blog, I LOVE taking pictures but I’m definitely more comfortable with being behind the camera rather than being in front of the lens.  I take a lot of pictures of my kids, my husband with the kids and other family members and/or friends with the kids but rarely, if ever, do I have pictures of me and my kids.  I can easily persuade myself with excuses like my hair’s not done or I’m not dressed for pictures and the like.  Do you often feel like this or is it just me?

Well, I’ve recently been inspired by Emily Anderson, mommy blogger of 3 Boys and a Little Lady, and her Embrace the Camera Challenge.  In the challenge, Emily reminds me that my kids will not be thinking about how mommy looks but simply cherishing the photos of love and family.  I definitely want my kids to have an abundance of photographs that capture our life and love.  So here’s the beginning of taking and sharing photos of me and my kids together.

I just have to add that this photo makes me laugh because I only have 2 kids but here I am with 4 little ones around me and somehow everyone is looking towards the camera! The other two little munchkins are children of one of my neighbors.

Thanks for your inspiration Emily!


Until next time…

7 thoughts on “Embrace the camera: Holding on to Wonderland

Leave a Reply

