What to wear (family portraits)…

SO I haven’t been great at posting these the way that I had hoped. I did say i’d try to post these (“what to wear”) on a weekly basis but I realized it would  be an amazing feat if I could even post these once a month.  Anyway, here are photos that I’ve come across from a couple of my favorite photographers where wardrobe definitely caught my eye. Hope they give you some great inspirations to your wardrobe ware!

If you take a look at this family’s photo session*, you’ll find that they went on the  matching route but I just loved how they did it. They always had something that broke up the monotony yet still tied everything together.

Here, mom and dad didn’t go for the usual white top but they tied in to their sons’ black ties.  Then, their daughter had the gray cardigan (another monotony breaker) to complement her white top and the black in her parents and brothers’ wardrobe.

I just love this! The perfect blend of the formal and laid back style in one. A very cool look!

Here’s a family**  that illustrates my idea of wearing clothes that coordinate but don’t exactly match. Of course, it does help A LOT when the whole family looks like models but I just love how everything works together. The colors and styles. You can see how the girls (mom and daughters) are wearing skirts/dresses that have various prints/patterns but together, they work! The prints don’t overtake the shots and there’s another layer of symmetry with the dresses/skirts length.

Not being a fashion expert, I can’t tell you exactly why it does work but honestly, all you need is to see that it does and use it as a springboard to your wardrobe plans. This is probably a great example of how there are NO sure and hard rules on what you should or shouldn’t wear; rather, like i’ve said before…go with clothes that make you feel good. If you feel good, you’re pictures will look good!

So tell me what you think! Did you like these wardrobes as much as I did? Do you have any wardrobe recommendations or tips you wouldn’t mind sharing?

Well, until next time…

Photos taken from a couple of my favorite photographers…

*  from Tara Whitney’s “Just Be Blogged” Photography Blog

** from Dana Grant Photography site

One thought on “What to wear (family portraits)…

Leave a Reply

